Creative Influences – Music

influencesmusic

I am by no means musical other than that time when I was about 5 and did piano lessons at school. But I have a love affair of listening to good music which varies in style depending on what mood I’m in.

I’ve always been influenced by music, growing up I was always interested in the music my parents listened to and I have an immense appreciation for music that has a lot of electric guitar and I don’t know if that comes from listening to my dad’s favourite album from the Dire straits ‘Brothers in Arms’. It’s always been one of my favourites as well I remember us pulling it out when we have the family around and having a listen. I have a lot of memories attached to this album and maybe that’s why I love it so much.

My love for guitar has grown with listening to bands like Halestorm and Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators. These have become some of my biggest rock influences at the moment, I had the chance last year to see Halestorm in person and it was the best damn show I have ever been to. I think that I will love them for a long time and looking forward to hearing new music from them.

When talking about my love affair for guitar I can not forget to mention The Living End, I have been a fan of their’s since I was a kid. I have memories of watching ‘Prisoner of Society’ on Rage, I’ve had the privilege to see this band play quite a few times since I first saw them when I was 16. They were my first concert and that gig hold special meaning to me because it’s been a decade since I was there with my best friend. Due to her growing a baby we weren’t able to go to the gig they did earlier this year at The Gov where we first saw them but I will always hold that memory close.

Rock isn’t my only musical influence I love listening to all sorts of music, right now I’m loving music from Birdy and Florence + the machine especially and some of their music has had an influence on my creative work.

These pieces from my ‘Nightmares and Dreamscapes‘ series were influenced by songs from Birdy and Florence.

Music has a massive impact as far as influences go on my work, my recent series ‘Counting on hearts‘ was inspired by the music from the band Icon For Hire.

In my personal life I use music as a way of relaxation, a place I can go to distract me from my thoughts, a place of rest but also something I can listen to while I’m working. Which is why I think my music choices vary so much, from mediation music to music like Birdy to rock n roll. They all have their places in my life and serve different purposes.

Check out my Last.fm profile to check out what I’ve been listening to and follow me on social media to see what I’ve been working on.

Note – This is not a sponsored post just my thoughts and feelings.

Leave a Reply

