The Storyteller Collection

This is a series I’ve wanted to create for a while, a series inspired by stories whether it be folklore, myths or legends or just original stories.

This series has evolved into something that I am inspired by, I kept my first couple of images fairly simple because I didn’t want to distract from the characters themselves but I love the way they have that painterly style.

The Painted Lady by Erin Applebee

The Painted Lady

‘The Painted Lady ‘ and ‘Antheia’s’ original inspiration came from butterflies ‘The Painted Lady’ is named after a species of butterfly and ‘Antheia’ is named after the goddess of nature and animals.

Antheia by Erin Applebee

Antheia

My inspiration came from a meridian of places and it’s an idea I have had In my head for sometime. It has slowly evolved over time, I wanted to create some pieces for this idea, that being the antler headdress and a necklace to match which I ended up using separately.

My idea ended up very different in the end from some of my original ideas but it’s still something that I’m happy with.

The Snow Queen by Erin Applebee

The Snow Queen

‘The Snow Queen’ was inspired by both Hansen Christian Anderson’s story and ‘The White Witch’ from C S Lewis’s Narnia stories. I created this and the previous to on a simple white backdrop and the rest is all editing. For this particular image I added in cool tones and stock images to add a winter feel.

I created nails, lashes and a wig for this piece.
through out this series I have wanted to keep some elements similar to tie it altogether that being the vintage wedding dress that I used and keeping the characters blonde.

For ‘A Neverending Story’ I was inspired by books by including book-pages in this image I wanted to create a sense that she was dreaming of a Never ending story.

This piece was a little more complex to put together I used mostly my own stock images and added in others in for the background and butterflies because I didn’t have anything that fit.

I’ve been loving experimenting with the nix collection I know some people are hesitant to use it but I’m all for a creative tool like this.
I like to do it in stages adding new layers of effects so that I can go back it I make a mistake so that it’s not as destructive to my work.

I use it to add colour effects, contrast and other creative effects like textures or boken.

There is still more to come in this series I still have a couple of images planned but I don’t want to give too much away.

keep following my work here.
Erin.

One thought on “The Storyteller Collection

Leave a Reply

