Inspiring Books – Art Journal Collection

featured.jpg

I started my collection a couple of years ago when I got Keri Smith‘s ‘Do Not Open This Box!’ box set which included ‘Wreck This Journal‘, ‘This Is Not A Book‘, ‘The Pocket Scavenger‘ and ‘Mess.’ Since then I have included numerous others in to my collection and I’m going to include my favourites in this post.

  1. Wreck This Journal By Keri Smith

My favourite has to be ‘Wreck This Journal‘ its just a fun concept and was the first journal of this kind that I had heard of. Of course many artists/authors have now introduced their own journals into the market, but this will always be my favourite as it was my first.

I love the original so much that I brought the ‘Wreck This Journal Everywhere‘ which is a mini version with additional prompts.

k_smith_wtj_02

Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This is my newest artwork in my ‘Wreck this Journal‘, the thing I love about it is that its purely individual some people literally wreck the journal and some like me use the prompts to create artwork.

I love viewing other people’s pages on instagram or pinterest its fun to see the artwork people create and how they interpret the prompts.

k_smith_wtj_03

Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This is my favourite page that I have done in the journal, I was inspired by my favourite fairytale ‘The Wizard of Oz’ and thought of this as a possible tattoo idea for myself.

One of the things I loved about this story was the hot air balloon and the song ‘Over The Rainbow’ from the movie. I wanted this piece to be inspired by the story but not be intentionally obvious. This is also my most shared post on pinterest and tumblr, I think it’s just a fun interpretation of climb up high, drop the journal.

2. Anti-Journal by David Sinden & Nikalas Catlow

anti_journal_01

Anti-Journal by David Sinden & Nikalas Catlow with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This is my second favourite, it is a fun and creative journal with interesting prompts but more focused on creating than destruction. It has nice thick paper and a hard cover, I had fun decorating this just like my others. I used tape on this to decorate the cover on both sides but leaving the important stuff still visible.

anti_journal_02

Anti-Journal by David Sinden & Nikalas Catlow with Artwork by Erin Applebee

I wanted to create a tie dye feel with this page and then carry it on through the consecutive pages as it bleed through the paper. One of my favourite tools to use is sharpie and alcohol markers like Spectrum Noir. They are fun and I can blend them together to create a ombre effect.

anti_journal_03

Anti-Journal by David Sinden & Nikalas Catlow with Artwork by Erin Applebee

Well there seems to be a reaccuring theme here lol, this was a fun page to create and it must seem like I really like hot air balloons. Actually I do, I think they are an amazing feat of engineering and also love the colours and individuality of them. I am particularly drawn to old-fashioned looking ones like this.

3. Steal Like An Artist Journa by Austin Kleon

a_kleon_steal_journal_01

Steal Like An Artist Journal by Austin Kleon with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This is my newest journal, its Austin Kleon‘s newest book the ‘Steal Like An Artist Journal‘ it’s a mixture of prompts from different artists.
I love his concept that artists should take things from each other be inspired off each others work and share not only our own work but the work of other artist that inspires us.

a_kleon_steal_journal_02

Steal Like An Artist Journal by Austin Kleon with Artwork by Erin Applebee

I have only done a couple of pages in this one so far, I really liked this page about thing I want to learn. This will be a work in progress kind of page where I will add things as I figure them out. This includes both some personal and artistic things I would like to learn.

a_kleon_steal_journal_03

Steal Like An Artist Journal by Austin Kleon with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This page was fun, I like the idea of seeing what you can envision from simple representations of images and symbols. This is still a work in progress but I had fun coming up with things I could associate with the simple circles and triangle shapes.

4. The Imaginary World of.. by Keri Smith

k_smith_imaginary_01

The Imaginary World of.. by Keri Smith with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This journal is a little different but it’s really individual, I want to use it to write stories and to find inspiration to create characters for my work.

k_smith_imaginary_02

The Imaginary World of.. by Keri Smith with Artwork by Erin Applebee

This is my only page so far in this one but I love the concept of this book and I can’t wait to fill it up.

Do you like art journals? do you use ones with prompts or do you use a sketch book? What ways do you find inspiration? I’d love to know.

Check out my personal blog for my other creative adventures, including art journal, colour and 365 grateful posts.

Erin

One thought on “Inspiring Books – Art Journal Collection

  1. Pingback: Creative Review – Wreck This Journal | Erin Applebee is a Fine-art Photographer & Digital Designer

Leave a Reply

