Free Textures – Pack 1

Lately I have really been getting into using textures in my work, applying them over the top of my image to give it that more painterly look. For a while I was using free textures that I found on the internet (particularly ones by Brooke Shaden, you can find her’s here), but I was inspired by a couple of my favourite photographers to start taking my own. Over the last month I have been photographing lots of texture and overlay images to use in my own work but I am also looking at licensing them so that other artists can use them to.

I have to admit there is a lot more to that than I thought. So I’ve decided to pay it forward I am going to share them here on my blog for anyone to access, I have used other artist stock images and textures for a long time that they provide for free and so I feel that its fitting that I should do the same. I will provide a link below where you can download the first Textures pack and you can use them provided you stick to the following terms.

Please see this link for the creative commons licence.

So far I have put together five texture packs and three overlay packs. Its been fun taking these and trying different things, I’ve had to step outside the box of how I usually take photos. Since taking this new adventure along the road of compositing I’ve learnt a lot and had to learn to take photos in a different way with compositing in mind.

You can download my first texture pack below, I will be posting more over the coming months for you to access and use in your own work.

Texture Pack 1

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

Here are some examples where I have used my textures in my work:

Hugging the moon by Erin Applebee

Hugging the moon by Erin Applebee

I will be doing a post on the above image and some others from the same project soon, but you can view my sketches post for this image.

The following images I took as a bit of an experiment so that I could test out some of my textures and I really wanted to step outside my comfort zone and use these images on my social media and website. Its one thing using these types of images in my work because there is a lot of manipulation involved but these are more in their original form and its feels like I’m really exposing myself, but I guess that’s just my anxiety talking.

Erin Applebee by Erin Applebee

_MG_4857sm

I hope that you enjoy using the textures and I would love to see anything you create with them so feel free to tweet me (@erin_applebee) or post it on my facebook page.

And remember to keep to the Creative Common licence when using them, have fun.

Erin

Leave a Reply

