The White Queen – Behind the scenes

In this post I wanted to share my process for coming up with my White Queen look, I love an opportunity to dress up in costumes and creating a charater through the use of hair and makeup. This first image you can see below was my first attempt at coming up with a makeup look to suit my character, I didn’t want her to be like any other version previously seen of The White Queen I wanted her to be purely out of my imagination.

I wanted to continue the winter theme through to the hair and makeup, I created an icy look using a light blonde wig and kept the makeup pale with lots of blue and white shimmer. For my final makeup look things changed a little but mostly the concept was the same.

The White Queen - Makeup Concept - Erin Applebee

The White Queen – Original Makeup Concept – Erin Applebee

With photography makeup you do need to make the makeup more intense so that your model doesn’t look washed out from the studio lights,
I did this by intensifing the contouring, highlighting and blending some bright blues into the eye makeup look.

I tried to be really resourceful with this look using things that i already had or that wouldn’t cost very much, the only elements in the overall look that I had to purchase were the blonde wig which I picked up of an Australian wig site for $30, some glitter makeup products and some fake nails which you’ll see later.

The White Queen - Makeup Concept - Erin Applebee

The White Queen – Makeup Concept – Erin Applebee

Below you’ll see the nails I created, I used some blank plastic nails I brought in a set of 100 from Big W and with a sponge I painted on a gradient of white and blue, I then sprinkled some iridescent glitter over the top and sealed with a clear coat of polish.

The White Queen - Nail Art Concept - Erin Applebee

The White Queen – Nail Art Concept – Erin Applebee

This following picture shows the final look with all the elements I used or created for this look. My dress was something I picked up a few years ago and i knew that and the tiara would be perfect for the concept I had in mind.

The White Queen - Outfit Concept - Erin Applebee

The White Queen – Outfit Concept – Erin Applebee

Keep an eye out for more posts this week as I go through by best five photos I took for my concept and the final piece with all the elements put together in photoshop.

Erin

Leave a Reply

